Biography

It was thanks to a gift from my grandparents at the age of 14, a Miranda REII reflex camera, that I took my first steps in photography. My interest grew and developed into a real passion in the early 1990s. Even then, architecture was my favourite subject. I spent nearly three years photographing the inner courtyards of Parisian buildings, which allowed me to discover many unusual places and to get to know my city better, which I tirelessly criss-crossed, always looking for new places to photograph.

It was in 2005 that I began to take an interest in digital technology, which had been shaking up the photographic industry for several years. I bought my first digital camera, a Nikon D70, with several lenses. The digital file, which replaces film, can be easily developed on a computer. I began to take an interest in Adobe Photoshop, which I would continue to study, in order to try to bring a personal touch to my images. As you can see when you look at my pictures, I don't always try to represent reality, although I always start from real scenes. After many years spent photographing mainly in colour, it is thanks to black & white that I express my work most often today. I like to work with strong contrasts and varied light effects, in order to try to obtain images with a strong visual impact.

It was around this time that I began to showcase my work more widely on the internet, thanks to the emerging photo sharing sites such as Flickr, to name but one of the most iconic. However, I would soon look for a more personal way to share my work. Curious about communication technologies, I decided to create my own website, without any knowledge of the subject. From there, a photo blog will be created, which will allow me to communicate and especially to share my passion, with notably tutorials, and many subjects on Paris. In 2016, I obtained a professional title of web graphic designer.

With this long experience in the field of image, I decided to take the step of creating my own activity in this field. For several years, I have been offering my services to companies and individuals. In addition to my main activity of training, I regularly collaborate with companies for which I mainly take architectural photos, and more particularly interior photos. More recently, I have also specialised in product photography. My mastery of image correction and retouching allow me to deliver work that is appreciated by my clients.

If passion is the word that comes up most often when I talk about photography, it is also the way I get involved in all my projects.

Découvrez mon interview par Olivier Rocq.

I discuss many topics (my background, composition in photography, my courses, etc.).

Parcours photographique

C’est grâce à un cadeau de ses grands-parents à l’âge de 14 ans, un appareil photo Miranda reflex REII, que David fera ses premiers pas en photographie. Il manifestera un intérêt grandissant, qui se transformera en véritable passion à partir du début des années 1990. Déjà à l’époque, l’architecture représente son sujet de prédilection. Il passera notamment près de trois années à photographier des cours intérieures d’immeubles parisiens, lui permettant, d’une part, de découvrir de nombreux lieux atypiques, et, d’autre part, de mieux connaître sa ville, qu’il sillonnera inlassablement, toujours à la recherche de nouveaux lieux à photographier.

C’est en 2005 que David commencera à s’intéresser à la technologie numérique, qui bouleverse alors l’industrie photographique depuis quelques années déjà.  Il fera l’acquisition  de son premier appareil photo numérique, un Nikon D70, accompagné de plusieurs optiques. Le fichier numérique, qui remplace la pellicule, permet d’être développé facilement sur ordinateur. David commencera donc à s’intéresser au logiciel Adobe Photoshop, qu’il n’aura de cesse d’étudier, afin d’essayer d’apporter une touche personnelle à ses images. Comme vous pourrez le constater en regardant ses images, David ne cherche pas toujours à représenter la réalité, bien que partant toujours de scènes bien réelles. Après de nombreuses années passées à photographier essentiellement en couleur, c’est grâce au noir & blanc que David exprime aujourd’hui son travail le plus souvent. Il aime en effet travailler sur des contrastes forts et des jeux de lumière variés, afin d’essayer d’obtenir des images à fort impact visuel.

C’est à la même époque que David commencera à présenter plus largement son travail sur Internet, grâce aux sites de partage photo naissants, tels que Flickr, pour ne citer que l’un des plus emblématiques. Toutefois, il cherchera assez rapidement un moyen plus personnel pour partager son travail. Curieux des technologies de communication, David décidera alors de se lancer dans la création de son propre site Internet, et ce, sans aucune connaissance en la matière. De là sera aussi créé un blog photo, qui lui permettra de communiquer et surtout de partager sa passion, avec notamment des tutoriels, et de nombreux sujets sur Paris.

Fort de cette longue expérience de l’image, David décidera de franchir le pas, en créant sa propre activité dans ce domaine. Si la passion est le mot qui revient le plus souvent lorsqu’il parle photographie, c’est aussi de la même manière que David s’implique dans tous ses projets.

2f126af91f48cb2058f776aa1504e9d3OOOOOOOOOO